or Connect

Posts by markbriton

The cost of manufacturing an iPhone is not affected by paying corporation tax in the UK. Did you buy the degree online?
I've never heard of Wharton but I'm a chartered accountant. How about the staff who work for the corporations; you don't think higher taxes affect their wages for example, regardless of whether they "consume" Apple's products? Do you regard Apple itself as a consumer, in that increased taxes can put downward pressure on their suppliers? Presumably if you were on Apple's board and were told corporation tax was being increased by 1%, you would simply say "we need to increase...
in answer to your question, no they don't because it isn't true and a lot of people are better educated than you.
I think most people agree that the tax system should be less complicated (except tax advisors!) but taxation is an important tool that governments use as part of a mixed economy. Tax can be used to discourage certain behaviours (for example smoking) or to encourage investment in certain industries (for example building new houses).
Yep, just take a look at some of our overseas territories like the Cayman Islands and Bermuda. You can get some good "financial advice" in London too I hear.
I agree. It's quite tiresome reading "you pay the taxes not the corporations" from all these teabaggers. Of course prices are affected by any number of things including exchange rate fluctuations, inflation (which is at zero in the UK), energy prices, political and civil unrest or natural disasters in the far away developing countries where nearly all Apple's products are made... it goes on and on. Taxes helped to pay for the environments that helped make Apple successful,...