or Connect

Posts by carmelapple

Or...Apple I: Jobs' HopeApple II: The Board Strikes BackApple III: Return of the Jobs..."i"
I code by hand with an app called Textastic. I'm only a novice right now doing simple pages with some JS and CSS3 animations and transitions. I never liked Dreamweaver much so I began teaching myself how to code by hand rather than with a WYSIWYG editor. I still think Adobe should do CS on iPad...even if it isn't full-blown versions like the desktop apps.
No. As mentioned above, I use a ClamCase to type on. For my artwork and graphic design, I use apps like iDraw and Procreate which work well with a touchscreen interface. Procreate even makes good use of my Wacom BT stylus. Also, I'm talking about proof printing of design...just simply printing a proof to be approved by a client. A lot of people are still stuck on this ridiculous idea that iPads (and strangely mostly just iPads) are content consumption devices not suited at...
I do a fair amount of email, word processing, web development (only a hobby right now), graphic design and even some proof printing. The apps are there...some you can take, some you can leave. I think as time goes on they will become more powerful and better designed, but they do exist. Right now I'm looking for an InDesign/Quark style app. Quark actually makes one, but it's garbage...even Microsoft Publisher puts it to shame...and that's bad. Really bad.
Well, it does...sort of. There is a fairly robust Photoshop app...I know...it's not full-on Photoshop but it does work to an extent. After that, Adobe seems to think designers need a whole host of strangely overlapping sketching apps that all do things pretty much done better by other sketching apps...aside from connecting to Creative Cloud. I think they could do InDesign and Illustrator for iOS...but I think they're mostly just testing the waters with these other apps....