or Connect

Posts by rkswb

First!!! (to preorder)
Incorrect. Anodizing chemically changes the outer surface of the aluminum to increase surface hardness (and color can be added). Coatings are much different... and are much prone to all sorts of flaking over time. So in theory, no, the fact that it is "colorless" doesn't decrease risk in flaking. Source: I'm a mechanical engineer.
No, they don't both best the 2009 MacBook Air. 3 hours 4 minutes (11-in model) is less than 3 hours 5 minutes (2009 MacBook Air)
No, they don't. 3 hours 4 minutes (11-in model) is less than 3 hours 5 minutes (2009 MacBook Air)
What you write is true. To add onto it, I currently believe that this mentality alright considering Apple's goals, though. Apple doesn't want the most high powered device; it wants a device that can do a lot. As underpowered as their selection may seem compared to current offerings, their current component upgrade track makes more sense considering their goals. Despite better, more powerful components available, i7 PC's provide little added benefit to the average...
I assume they will have some kind of boost though, even if it's not i7. Maybe they'll keep the core 2 duos in order to preserve use of Nvidia GPU's, though. This would make sense because most people who use an iMac rely more on a solid video card rather than a quad-core processor....
I am an engineer. And I agree with your response, which goes against the general consensus by saying that there WILL be a performance boost despite using a thinner body.