or Connect

Posts by nht

Lol...like your need for brew is more mainstream than the need for x86 apps.
 I provided a link to code that shows that some clients are vulnerable that you ignored.  Exactly what more do you need as proof? Just google heartbleed and wget.  Which someone helping their lame IT department should be sufficiently skilled to do. And playing the "I'm an expert" card (or the even lamer passive aggressive "I'm not an expert" card) gets you butkus on the internet. And here Mr. "I'm not an expert but I researched this more than you" another...
 This is false.  Clients are vulnerable too. According to RFC 6520, heartbeats should not be sent during handshakes. In practice, OpenSSL accepts heart beats right after the sending a ServerHello (this is what Jared Stafford's ssltest.py does). Upon further testing, I have discovered that servers can abuse clients by sending a Heartbeat right aftersending the ServerHello too. It triggers the same bug.A proof of concept can be found in my repo...
 True, but some things are services that might run on your desktop.  For example PostgreSQL uses OpenSSL.  I have that installed on my machine for stuff.  Then again, I'm a dev.
If you ever used MacPorts to download anything check your openssl package. In the console type: $ openssl version If it shows 0.9.8y (the Mavericks default) you're fine. If it shows 1.0.1 then your mac has the vulnerability. 1.0.1g has the patched library. do: $ sudo port upgrade openssl For brew users I THINK the proper way to update is: $ brew update $ brew install openssl $ brew link --force openssl But check on the web. I don't use brew.