or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Other Discussion › AppleOutsider › PoliticalOutsider › State of the Union 2010

State of the Union 2010 - Page 2

post #41 of 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by BR View Post

From John Scalzi's analysis of the situation...I think he hits the nail on the head:

http://whatever.scalzi.com/2010/01/2...he-union-2010/

Wow. I had No idea John Scalzi was a political commentator too. I went to high school with John Scalzi and Josh Marshall, who were close friends in a class of about 60 graduates at my school. They were seniors ('87) when I was a sophomore ('89).

Funny thing is, most of the people coming out of the school, and all of the administration, are die-hard Republicans, it being kind of an exclusive and expensive school.

I contribute the success of Scalzi and Marshall to Dave Fawcett and Larry McMillan. Too bad I never paid attention in Fawcett's class and I never had McMillan.
post #42 of 128
NYT has a good piece on the POTUS-SCOTUS scuffle.

GW did criticize the court back in 2008, but not during the SOU. Go figure: about detainees' rights.
Nixon did, too.

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/29/us.../29scotus.html

Your = the possessive of you, as in, "Your name is Tom, right?" or "What is your name?"

You're = a contraction of YOU + ARE as in, "You are right" --> "You're right."

Your = the possessive of you, as in, "Your name is Tom, right?" or "What is your name?"

post #43 of 128
I guess the whole "adversarial journalism" thing went out the window when Obama was elected. Now it's all "context" and running cover for him.

Not everyone at the NYT drank the cool aid.

Justice Alitos Reaction

Quote: