or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Other Discussion › AppleOutsider › PoliticalOutsider › How Will it Take for America to Recover from Catastrophic Republican Mismanagement?

How Will it Take for America to Recover from Catastrophic Republican Mismanagement? - Page 2

post #41 of 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ1970 View Post

I'll let you use your imagination or study your own history. But I will say that private roads, turnpikes/tollways and railroads (same idea) are not unprecedented in American history at all and they solved the problems of land acquisition* as well as creation of fee structures and payment schemes.

*Land acquisition would likely be handled very much as it is today for large projects that require acquiring large amounts of land from multiple owners. This happens all the time today. More typically for something like a major housing, retail, manufacturing or office development. I'm not an expert in this, but I know it is usually done quietly and through levels of indirection to avoid speculation driving prices too high. Land is also often acquired using option contracts to secure the right to buy without actually buying everything until all the options are locked up.

Toll roads are not private roads.

The construction of a private road would cost, I would estimate about 20 times what it costs the government. A private company would be unable to acquire real estate without illegal tactics. Oh I forgot in your world law would not be enforced since there would private police owned by these companies, therefore they could simply kill anyone who owns real estate in the way of their road.

Tax is as old as mankind. Tax revolts are the same age and so is real estate ownership.
Feel free to refuse to pay taxes. BTW if you think it's theft you can write it off but only after you report it to the police (a tax payer owned agency).
yes I want oil genocide.
yes I want oil genocide.
post #42 of 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wormhole View Post