or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Mac Hardware › Current Mac Hardware › Apple iPad owners report Wi-Fi connection issues

Apple iPad owners report Wi-Fi connection issues - Page 2

post #41 of 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by antkm1 View Post

I've been posting about the issues with Wi-Fi for at least 2 years on this forum. WiFi is not all it's cracked up to being. Now i don't yet have an iPad (waiting for the 3G) but my iphone 3G has very spotty problems with WiFi. Way too slow, to many users, diffuclty loggin on when they are web-based and not just account based. Panera has finally shapped up thier WiFi but others are still forcing you to log on through a website that has to remain open for you to use. The ATT free WiFi is worthless. Plus you can't use it in the car (yet). The only GOOD WiFi i've been able to use is my router at home. Now i hope i won't have the problem some have when you use both the iPhone and iPad at the same time, but we'll see. I just hope some of these bugs get fixed by the time i purchase mine. I'm waiting to see what the Chrome OS machines turn out to be (due out in the fall), but i'm affriad they will be a joke compared to the iPad.

Do you really expect wifi hotspots (especially free once) to be as good as your home broadband?
MacBook 5,1, MacPro 4,1
MacBook 5,1, MacPro 4,1
post #42 of 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by nishin View Post

Just for the record, a PC sitting next to my Mac can detect far more networks in a given area, compared to a Mac. Why ?? Is the Mac's WiFi implementation inferior ? How were they able to pass and retain WiFi certification ????

Most likely because Apple insists on using aluminum cases for their computers. Think about how silly it is that they keep putting a Faraday cage around their WiFi antennas. Yes, the Macs/iPads look good, but form should follow function, Mr. Ive.
post #43 of 151