or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Mobile › iPhone › Apple releases iOS 4 for iPhone, iPod touch

Apple releases iOS 4 for iPhone, iPod touch - Page 4

post #121 of 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmz View Post

New iBooks Update is showing up in the App Store on the iPhone, with an indicator that its universal, but is not available for download yet on iPhone, only iPad.

It seems to come and go. I deleted it from my iTunes and re-downloaded version 1.1 and it synced to my iPhone with no problem.

I went back 20 minutes later to verify the version in the iTunes store and that time the store showed 1.0.1 - so evidently Apple's content caching servers are still syncronizing.

Version 1.1 is the version that will sync to the iPhone (I'm looking at it on my iPhone right now).
post #122 of 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by super8sean View Post

I am a app developer and apples techs thoroughly explained the background processes to us.
NOW HEAR THIS!!!!!!!!!!:Apps in the background do not use up power or resources. They are in a suspended state.

Perhaps, but with Navigon loaded my phone is sluggish. If I kill it, all is well. There it is.

Otherwise, I agree - it's pretty slick.
post #123 of 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by user23 View Post

on my latest gen. iPod touch I noticed (with the iOS 4 update) it now has "airplane mode" for some reason. Seems redundant when I normally just switch Wi-Fi off.

Airplane kills wifi and bluetooth as apposed to wifi only?
post #124 of 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitey View Post

Theres no settings for MMS in the settings menu for Messages.

So is MMS working or no?
post #125 of 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by str1f3 View Post

Even though the first model was a luxury device

It's only a "luxury device" to internet wags who are either unwilling or unable to understand that there are many kinds of needs in this world, and it's perfectly OK for devices to exist that don't meet their specific needs.