or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › General › General Discussion › Microsoft objects to Apple's "App Store" trademark application

Microsoft objects to Apple's "App Store" trademark application - Page 3

post #81 of 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronbo View Post

Microsoft has trademarked "Word" and long ago sued a man because his product name used the Hebrew word for "bookshelf" which they also owned. It's hard to know how they can fairly object that something sounds too general. If their objection is upheld (which may or may not have merit... I'm no expert), it should automatically be applied to their own line.

if apple has trademarked 'app' or 'apps' then i would go with apple. if not, then i agree with MS

they could call it the 'mac store' but then get sued by maxtor....
post #82 of 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobycat View Post

Seems like about the only words Microsoft could lay claim to are their corporate name and Visio.

Don't forget this classic: Visual InterDev

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aeolian View Post

I am just "T'd" off, about this whole thing.

I would like to remind you of Mr. O.J. Simpson trying to "copywright" the term OJ. so he could cash in every time we bought O.range J.uice....

Yea, no one thought of that before him.

Copyright and trademarks are different beasts.

You can only trademark a term for a specific industry or type of product.

A trademark for a hypothetical Lumberjack truck model wouldn't prevent some other company from having a separate trademark for Lumberjack flannel shirts or boots or thermoses* -- or even paper towels.

The trademark lawsuit between the (then) Apple Computer and Apple Records started when Apple Computer began to move into music, because Apple Records felt they owned the "Apple" trademark in that niche or industry.

* Edit: On reflection, "Thermos" is already trademarked.

Google Maps: ("Directions may be inaccurate, incomplete, dangerous, or prohibited.")