or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Mac Hardware › Current Mac Hardware › To get a new MBA or not?

To get a new MBA or not?

post #1 of 3
Hello there

I have an opinion question for all those out there / and a little bit of a technical one as well:

I have the original aluminum unibody mac book that became the mac book pro: 2.4 GHZ with 4GB ram.... I am thinking of getting the new 11"MBA with 4GB of ram.

1) Is it true that I would see similar performance from the MBA and my old mac book/mac book pro? ( I have heard that with the SSD you can expect performance similar to what I have)

2) If I do decide to go with the MBA, should I spend the extra to get the 1.8 I7 or stick with the 1.6I5?

3) I have currently used only 108 GB on my current machine. If I go MBA, should I get the larger SSD?

Thank you for any input you can give. I do not use it for any heavy apps, mainly web, processing, and business use as I am a lawyer and do not use a lot of graphic intensive apps.

Adam Birozy
post #2 of 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by abirozy View Post

1) Is it true that I would see similar performance from the MBA and my old mac book/mac book pro? ( I have heard that with the SSD you can expect performance similar to what I have)

The SSD will significantly outperform the hard drive in the old one (it's at least 150MB/s vs 50MB/s) so documents and apps open faster and the machine boots faster. It's also resilient to being knocked around and you don't need to shut it down. The CPUs in all the MBAs are faster than the 2.4GHz machine.

Quote:

2) If I do decide to go with the MBA, should I spend the extra to get the 1.8 I7 or stick with the 1.6I5?

The CPU performance of the machines is the following:

Your Macbook (3300) - http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench...&commit=Search
1.6GHz i5 (4600) - http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench2/search?q=2467m
1.8GHz i7 (5800) - http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench2/search?q=2677m