or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Mobile › iPhone › Apple will update iOS to require user permission for apps to access contact data

Apple will update iOS to require user permission for apps to access contact data - Page 2

post #41 of 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDoppio View Post

Many here will testify that most users will be happy with that model and defend it even when it fails.

I'm not a developer, so I have no first hand knowledge of Apple's app approval process. And as a lazy bum, I've not tried to find any second hand knowledge either.

So, perhaps someone more industrious can help me out. Exactly what is included in Apple's app approval process? Do developers actually submit source code with their apps? Does Apple actually review that code? How would they determine what Path was doing?
post #42 of 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricochet View Post

"For its part, Path issued an apology and gave users the option to opt out,…"

The classy way to do it would be on an "opt in" basis.

Actually Path did exactly that but it was reported incorrectly by a blog and then every tech blog copied that blog ...

That's part of the trouble with so called "tech journalism" today. They all feed on each other and rarely does anyone make a simple phone call to the source to check the facts out.

Path announced they were wiping all previously uploaded data and that the new app version would then ask people if they wanted to "opt in" on the sharing, but it's been reported as the opposite ever since, for the reasons stated above.
post #43 of 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Curmudgeon View Post

It's a shame that you're demanding Apple treat all of their developers as criminals. Because some act poorly, Apple should punish everybody. What you want is developers with ethics. Perhaps they're rare now.