or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Other Discussion › AppleOutsider › PoliticalOutsider › Top Political Dissidents In Malaysia Attacked And Harrassed

Top Political Dissidents In Malaysia Attacked And Harrassed

post #1 of 3
Well, it happened. Some of you don't believe me when I talked about Malaysia. But a few weeks ago, my family friend, a PhD from Duke now back in Malaysia was harassed and his front gate was smashed down, and they were beating down his front door.

Remember this is not some random "gangbangers", but thugs hired by the political oligopoly to shakedown anyone opposing oppression in Malaysia.

I grew up with this guy as a kid, our parents still are very close. We're not related but the story (as my mother tells me) was that my mother and his mother met at a kindergarten we were going to.

He and I studied in Singapore as well, and I went on to other things but being quite the braniac he went into serious political science stuff, and is now part of the major dissidents in Malaysia and the "Bersih" (Clean Elections) movement.

Keep in mind that in Kuala Lumpur, generally, wealthy or middle-class neighbourhoods do not usually have violent crime like assaults or something like this where the front gate was smashed down by a group of assailants, who also violently tried to get in through the front door, in most cases it is robberies and petty crime. This is considered quite violent in general particularly as it is not drug/gang-related.

Malaysia - Minimal rule of law. Corruption. NO freedom of religion for Malays. Minimal freedom of speech.

To see my birth country spiraling the toilet like this is chilling. Maybe in the 80s this would have been OK, 90s was pretty quiet. But the past 10 years, shit is hitting the fan.

http://malaysia-today.net/mtcolumns/newscommentaries/50522-bersih-urges-government-to-condemn-latest-attack-on-critics

Recalling the incident, Ong pointed out that his house was an unassuming double-storey terrace house.