or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Mac Hardware › Future Apple Hardware › Apple files hint at re-engineered iMac and Mac Pro models, potentially without optical drives

Apple files hint at re-engineered iMac and Mac Pro models, potentially without optical drives - Page 6

post #201 of 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by kotatsu View Post

A sensible post at last.

Optical will eventually go away of course, but it has many years of life yet. I bet BDs will still be on sale in a decade or more, and it will be the same for DVDs and CDs. Until high speed broadband is ubiquitous, online movie rental costs drop to something sane, and online movie purchasing goes DRM free, discs will persist and thrive.

As a dev, I havent used an optical drive in 5 years. I'll survive with out them now.

post #202 of 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junkyard Dawg View Post

You seem to think that Apple waves a magic wand and the universe obeys.  Ummm...no.  

All the people using optical discs for movies or video don't care what Apple does or does not include on their hardware.  Those who have a decade or more of data archived on DVD are not going to convert their entire backup scheme because Apple changed hardware configurations.  The world doesn't work the way you seem to believe.

As for floppy discs, the idea that Apple "killed" them is absurd.  Their marketshare in the late 90s was miniscule.  Floppy discs were supersceded by newer media formats.  Software companies distributed their goods on CD ROMs.  Files grew too large for floppies and thus people quit using them.  These changes happen incrementally due to myriad causes, you cannot cherry pick one factor and say "that's what killed floppies".

What happens is Apple does what it needs to and youre either along for the ride or your not. If you want to use dated technology, that's fine and all but don't expect Apple to continue supporting it.

post #203 of 253

Whoa, whoa whoa.