or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Mobile › iPad › Apple reveals iPad mini: 7.9" display, 7.2mm thin, starting at $329

Apple reveals iPad mini: 7.9" display, 7.2mm thin, starting at $329 - Page 6

post #201 of 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wovel View Post

Yeah that 10% price difference will make all the difference! Come on, what planet are you people from.

And that extra 9/10 of a cent you pay per gallon of gas just rounds down and falls off the page.
What planet are you from? I do marketing for a living- not that that makes me a guru or expert, but to suggest price points don't affect emotional responses or mental blocks is insane. The jump from 299 to 329 is nothing- but it's everything. I'm sure apple weighed out what they would lose in sales with the extra $30 compared to the lower margins at the $299. They might be right, they might be wrong. No one will ever know- but they're pretty smart folks over in Cupertino.
But again- to suggest its "just 10%" is simplifying it.

2012 27" iMac i7, 2010 27" iMac i7, 2011 Mac Mini i5
iPad Air, iPad Mini Retina, (2) iPhone 5S, iPod Touch 5
Time Capsule 5, (3) AirPort Express 2, (2) Apple TV 3

2012 27" iMac i7, 2010 27" iMac i7, 2011 Mac Mini i5
iPad Air, iPad Mini Retina, (2) iPhone 5S, iPod Touch 5
Time Capsule 5, (3) AirPort Express 2, (2) Apple TV 3

post #202 of 279
Anybody complaining about plastic on Nexus 7 hasn't used one. Everyone thought it was leather or rubber when it first came out. I love the feel of it. And the durability. I've dropped mine from waist height on to ceramic floors. Twice. And on to hardwood while falling asleep in bed holding it. Not a scratch.

You can bet that I won't be touching my new iPads until there's a case on there.

For the price charged, it's a phenomenal value.

And then there's portability. The Nexus 7 fits in my jacket pockets. And my jeans pockets. And I'm a normal sized male. I'm curious to see where the iPad mini fits on that scale.