or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Other Discussion › AppleOutsider › PoliticalOutsider › Marco Rubio--not fit for public office

Marco Rubio--not fit for public office

post #1 of 121

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/marco-rubio-tells-gq-scientist-man-article-1.1204747

Quote:
The Florida senator appeared to be caught off guard when the GQ Q&A turned from recollections about his father and grandfather to a basic science question that is controversial for many on the religious right: “How old do you think the Earth is?”

Rubio, a Catholic and favorite of the Tea Party, responded with the following: 

"I'm not a scientist, man. I can tell you what recorded history says, I can tell you what the Bible says, but I think that's a dispute amongst theologians and I think it has nothing to do with the gross domestic product or economic growth of the United States. I think the age of the universe has zero to do with how our economy is going to grow. I'm not a scientist. I don't think I'm qualified to answer a question like that. At the end of the day, I think there are multiple theories out there on how the universe was created and I think this is a country where people should have the opportunity to teach them all. I think parents should be able to teach their kids what their faith says, what science says. Whether the Earth was created in 7 days, or 7 actual eras, I'm not sure we'll ever be able to answer that. It's one of the great mysteries."

Politicians should make decisions based on evidence.  They should weigh the facts and allow those facts to govern their decision-making process.  What should not happen is facts getting ignored or a false equivalence being created between evidence-based reality and crackpot wishful thinking.  

Yet, when asked a very uncontroversial question about how old the Earth is, Marco Rubio vomited a gallon of logical fallacies in response.