or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Mobile › iPhone › Google's Schmidt: We'd like Apple have Google Maps as default on iOS

Google's Schmidt: We'd like Apple have Google Maps as default on iOS - Page 2

post #41 of 130
He doesn't know Jack Schmidt...
post #42 of 130
Maps is way out ahead of anything Google is offering, developer support being just one element. I've yet to see how Google Maps is a better mapping app, in many cases it is far worst. To each his own but I'm finding myself reaching for Apples maps app more and more because it does what it does really well.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrangerFX View Post

As a mapping app developer I would NOT like to have Google Maps be the default for iOS. They come with too many restrictions on what app developers can do with them. If your app is successful and a lot of people use it, Google can turn off their maps. All of Google's mapping SDKs come with a long list of things you CAN'T do with them. Apple's maps are improving rapidly. They are vector and smaller to download. They are cached on the device so even if you lose connection to the internet, the maps still work over a large area. Google's maps are tiled bitmaps for many different scale levels. Caching them would require a lot of data storage but that does not matter because caching is one of the things that you are not allowed to do. Thanks but I will keep Apple's maps.
post #43 of 130