or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Mobile › iPod + iTunes + AppleTV › iBrary The Next iApp?

iBrary The Next iApp? - Page 2

post #41 of 49
[quote]Originally posted by giant:
<strong>This is fake

As a librarian, I have more than enough contact with this to know how impossible licensing with online publishers is. You think music is bad, you have seen nothing. There is a lot of drama between publishers, librarians and authors right now. From proprietary formats to constricting license agreements, online publishing is in a horribly inaccessable place, even for a major library with massive funding like the one I work in. It is nothing less than a ****ing mess.

In other words, as cool as an idea as it is, there is no way that it is possible.</strong><hr></blockquote>

As a librarian you know about this then right?

eBrary: <a href="http://shop.ebrary.com/Top?layout=search&frm=smp.x&p00=&brw.x=23&brw.y=8" target="_blank">http://shop.ebrary.com/Top?layout=search&frm=smp.x&p00=&brw.x=23&brw.y=8</a>

Dave
Apple Fanboy: Anyone who started liking Apple before I did!
post #42 of 49
If it's a fake, the person was pretty creative to come up with something no one else had thought of. Typical of an actual Apple idea, notice how many of us are pretty critical of it.

Imagine the possibilites: children creating story books that they can easily give a polished look to. They can "Publish" these books they have written to their school's "Public Library" or even an internet wide "Global Library."

There might even be a way to get a printed, hard-bound book of your story, just like with iPhoto.

The "iBrary" name may seem silly, but this project is exactly the kind of creative innovation Apple comes up with.

[ 10-28-2002: Message edited by: clonenode ]</p>
c l o n e n o d e
o n e o f m a n y
c l o n e n o d e
o n e o f m a n y
post #43 of 49
"The synthesis quality is outstanding, seemingly able to handle emotion quite well. "