or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Mac Hardware › Future Apple Hardware › MacBidouille posts PPC 970 benchmarks

MacBidouille posts PPC 970 benchmarks - Page 11

post #401 of 666
Running the risk of continuing to hijack this thread...

Engineers hate it when the company visionary walks in, says he doesn't like something or asks for a minor change. I know, I'm an engineer and it has happened to me a couple of times. What is really odd, however, is that in many (not all) cases he was absolutely right and the products were better for it. SJ is that kind of guy and Apple's products are better off with his influence than they are without. Is he infallible? No, but nobody is. He does have a pretty good hit:miss ratio.

I'm a shareholder in Apple too and frankly I would much rather have somebody like SJ at the helm than some business flunky who bends over for the "all powerful shareholders". The fact is that the shareholders don't know $hit about the business they've invested in, they don't know all the details, and they don't know all the plans and issues involved. Look back at the years when there were business types running Apple and you'll see that they pretty much ran it into the ground.

As for the Newton, which is always held up as an example -- personally I think Steve was right and he made the hard call to kill the product. A product isn't just about what is making money right now, its about the future as well and since the Newton was Steve'd the handheld market has been a bloody mess leaving wounded companies strewn across the battlefield. Apple, on the other hand, focussed on its core strengths and now has a good position if they can just deliver that new processor everybody says is coming soon (and which this thread is about <-- see, relevance!).