or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Software › Mac Software › AppleOffice Speculation

AppleOffice Speculation - Page 4

post #121 of 126
I've read every post in all the current board topics about the mysterious iOffice (of whatever it's going to be called), and read with some surprise that virtually everyone considered the word processing aspect of the suite to need only a handful of features (those found, astonishingly enough, in Appleworks 6) and can be summed up as:

1. Ability to open and save .doc format (by default)
2. simple text and graphic manipulation
3. Search and Replace

I'm a writer both by vocation and avocation, and therefore nearly destitute, so buying Office X is not even a consideration for me at the present time. I can't justify the expense.

I spent virtually all of my workday editing 100 page Word docs, preparing complex project management tables, and process reports.

In all these cases Office offers the two features I use most of all that are not supported in Appleworks, or as far as I can tell, in any other alternative word processing product. What I need, and what I will beg, borrow, and steal enough cash to buy is an Office alternative that offers:

The track changes editing feature
Intuitive table manipulation
A useful on-the-fly spell/type-o checker
The Header-type/Table of Contents tool

Word processing is much more than simply hammering out a letter/memo and printing. Any professional writer needs these four features and uses them constantly.

I can't understand why Mail has a workable real-time spell/type-o checker and Appleworks 6 does not. I've used Nisus and it simply didn't offer the stability or functionality I needed to replace, or pair with Word. OpenOffice X is vaporware, and ThinkFree Office X is devoid of a useful features list and online review so I have no idea what features it has other than "Writes to and opens .doc format".