or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Software › Mac Software › Best FTP Client

Best FTP Client

post #1 of 20
I am new to using an FTP Client, I currently have fetch 4.0. Is there another one that is better? easier to use?
post #2 of 20
I think you'll hear A LOT of people here - myself included - heartily recommend Transmit.

It's all I've used for nearly two years now.
post #3 of 20
yes, if you want best ftp client, i don't think anything rivals transmit right now for user interface and features.

BUT, if you are a student, fetch is free and is halfway decent, so...
When you're lovers in a dangerous time,
You're made to feel as if your love's a crime.
Nothing worth having comes without some kind of fight.
Gotta kick at the darkness 'til it bleeds daylight.

post #4 of 20
Hmm, FTPeel would be such a rival to Transmit. http://freshlysqueezedsoftware.com/products/ftpeel/

Also, if you only need SCP, you could use http://rsug.itd.umich.edu/software/fugu/
post #5 of 20
damn, someone just told me about fugu (and i hadn't checked back to this thread to see your suggestion for it too, chucker). it looks eerily similar in funcion and arrangement to panic's transmit (but without the pretty icons). i mean, i am sure there are other differences, such as bbedit integration, and active previews, but for most people, this FREE front end to the software built into mac os x is a nice alternative...

(though, to be honest, i like supporting the folks at panic)

post #6 of 20
Friend of Fetch here.
I never get tired of being right all the time... but I do get tired of having to prove it to you again and again.
I never get tired of being right all the time... but I do get tired of having to prove it to you again and again.
post #7 of 20
I got Fetch free because I'm a student. It works just great. And it's a venerable application - it also runs perfectly well on my PowerBook 520c.

RBrowser Lite is free, but it's pretty confusing and difficult to use.