or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Mac Hardware › Future Apple Hardware › Could this mean "Powermac Extreme" at WWDC?

Could this mean "Powermac Extreme" at WWDC? - Page 2

post #41 of 78
Ok, unless nobody else has mentioned it...

I may be just trying to keep hope alive, but what about the difference in the design of the inside? The new 2.5's have the same setup in the 'innards' as the original 1.6, 1.8 & 2.0 G5 models, but what about the new inside design that showed up in the developer manuals that Apple released just recently? Not to mention the new PowerMac 8,1 kernel ?driver? that showed up in the recent update.

Nope! Too much is keeping my dreams alive...
I've been using apple since 1987, and wouldn't even touch a WinBox if it wasn't part of my job to support them.

G4 Cube | G4 iBook | G4 eMac | G5 iMac | Intel iMac | Alum MacBook Pro | 1G iPhone | i...
I've been using apple since 1987, and wouldn't even touch a WinBox if it wasn't part of my job to support them.

G4 Cube | G4 iBook | G4 eMac | G5 iMac | Intel iMac | Alum MacBook Pro | 1G iPhone | i...
post #42 of 78
Quote:
Originally posted by MacMorsel
Ok, unless nobody else has mentioned it...

I may be just trying to keep hope alive, but what about the difference in the design of the inside? The new 2.5's have the same setup in the 'innards' as the original 1.6, 1.8 & 2.0 G5 models, but what about the new inside design that showed up in the developer manuals that Apple released just recently? Not to mention the new PowerMac 8,1 kernel ?driver? that showed up in the recent update.

Nope! Too much is keeping my dreams alive...

Difference in design is likely due to pre-production systems used in photos. the PowerMac8,1 machine code references iMac/eMacs - PowerMacs use odd numbers (1,3,5 and the most recent 7). iMacs/eMacs use evens (2, 3, 4, 6 and most recent 8).