or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Other Discussion › AppleOutsider › PoliticalOutsider › Liberal bias: Washinton Post article analyzed

Liberal bias: Washinton Post article analyzed

post #1 of 31
Blog-o-rama

Been trying to hit some different types of bloggers out there and ran across this today. To me, the analysis of the article reads quite convincingly. Although I'm not a professor of English, (though we have a couple lurking about) it seems to me this is a compelling proof of an instance where word usage, perspective and narrative all combine to shape the story as pro-Kerry.

Quote:
Liberal Bias in the Wording of a News Article

Liberal bias takes many forms. When the alleged bias is the omission or distortion of critical facts, demonstrating the bias is a more straightforward project. But there is a more subtle and far more pervasive bias that is harder to explain to skeptics: a bias based on the wording of a piece. This sort of bias manifests itself in the tone, the word usage, and the perspective of a piece. I am going to attempt to explain this sort of bias today, by showing some of the devices used.

Today the Washington Post prints one of those articles that drive conservatives like me crazy. The article, a front-page news analysis titled Kerry Put On Defensive About Iraq, just drips with sympathy for Kerry. But I don't find any clear misstatements of fact in the piece. The bias is in the way it's worded, starting with the very first paragraph:

Over the past week, President Bush and Vice President Cheney have thrown Sen. John F. Kerry on the defensive with a daily assault designed to tarnish his credentials as a possible commander in chief. But the orchestrated attacks also revealed the president's vulnerabilities on the issue that continues to shape the presidential campaign as much as any other.