or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Other Discussion › AppleOutsider › PoliticalOutsider › Bush Audience Boos W's Best Wishes To Clinton

Bush Audience Boos W's Best Wishes To Clinton - Page 2

post #41 of 46
Quote:
Originally posted by trumptman
Clinton is exactly what Bush is in many ways. First Clinton never got a majority of the votes cast. He was basically elected the first time because Perot peeled so many votes off from Bush I, and then bailed on the race. (If I recall correctly, Clinton was elected with 43% of the popular vote the first time he was elected and 49% the second)

While I'm not too good with letters, you seem to miss the mark when numbers come in to play. Clinton got a 'simple' majority of votes cast as our constitution calls for. GHWB got 37%, WJC got 43% and HRP got 19%. See how it works is of the candidates Clinton got the most votes. If you honestly believe HRP skimmed the entire 19% from GHWB then your nuts.
"[Saddam's] a bad guy. He's a terrible guy and he should go. But I don't think it's worth 800 troops dead, 4500 wounded -- some of them terribly -- $200 billion of our treasury and counting, and...
"[Saddam's] a bad guy. He's a terrible guy and he should go. But I don't think it's worth 800 troops dead, 4500 wounded -- some of them terribly -- $200 billion of our treasury and counting, and...
post #42 of 46
Quote:
Clinton is exactly what Bush is in many ways. First Clinton never got a majority of the votes cast.

Did GHWB in his first run? I'm honestly asking.

Quote:
He was basically elected the first time because Perot peeled so many votes off from Bush I, and then bailed on the race. (If I recall correctly, Clinton was elected with 43% of the popular vote the first time he was elected and 49% the second)....