or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › General › Genius Bar › Hi

Hi

post #1 of 26
HI guys new member here. Anyways, I'm new to the Mac world
and recently got a refurbished iMac. Well when I go to turn it on, a gray screen pops up and a little icon that looks like a computer with a face shows up. then I cant do anything and it just stays like that. Yes, I'm a newb, please help. Thanks.
Cafe
Cafe
post #2 of 26
Welcome

How long are you leaving it on for? It will do that and if it was shut down improperly, it'll try to fix/tidy up at startup. After a certain amount of time it should boot up normally into the desktop. Try leaving it alone for 5-10 minutes. If it still does nothing, ask us again, there are things you can do.

It's not normal to take long, but if, for example, the power was cut off or the plug was pulled without shutting down, it'll take longer to boot next time.

Is it a happy mac face of does it switch to a sad mac or folder symbol with a question mark on it?

Is the hard drive making any clicking/ticking noises or is it silent.
"The Roots of Violence: wealth without work, pleasure without conscience, knowledge without character, commerce without morality, science without humanity, worship without sacrifice, politics...
"The Roots of Violence: wealth without work, pleasure without conscience, knowledge without character, commerce without morality, science without humanity, worship without sacrifice, politics...
post #3 of 26
wow that was fast. It's a happy Mac face, but nothings happened yet. It's kinda silent but makes like a fan sounding noise. THanks for the reply, hoping the face goes away.
Cafe
Cafe
post #4 of 26
If it's silent, it's probably just hung and not actually fixing anything. The tapping would mean the hard drive is busy reading/writing stuff, chances are it's crashed.

So...

Describe the physical iMac. What kind is it, if you know. In general.