or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › General › Genius Bar › Migration assistant help?

Migration assistant help?

post #1 of 3
(Tried posting this before and the post got mostly eaten -- retrying...)

Hello all-

I currently have a G4 Power Mac, and I've just purchased a slightly used G5 Power Mac on eBay; I've ordered a bigger internal hard drive for the second drive bay and am waiting on that before I start using it. I am planning on using the Migration Assistant to move my old user data and applications over from the old Mac to the new. I've never used the Migration Assistant before so I'd appreciate any words of wisdom from those who have done so.

The thing that is keeping the process from being totally straightforward is iDVD. Basically, my old Mac doesn't have a DVD burner, and thus didn't come with iDVD; the new one does, and thus did. I'm assuming that the only way to get iDVD without shelling out for iLife (which I have no real desire to do) is to use the system restore disks that came with the G5. However, my guess is that there's no way to get iDVD off of those disks without doing a total system install. Also, if I use Migration Assistant to move my apps over, what happens to the existing apps? Essentially, I want my Applications folder to be just like the one currently on my old Mac, but to have iDVD in it. Any advice anyone has would be helpful.

Anyway, here is my current plan of action:

1. Install the new drive in the empty drive bay.

2. Use the system restore disks that came with the G5 to install a clean version of OS X 10.3.5 (this was the current version when the G5 was sold) on the G5's new hard drive; set up a single admin user with a name different from any of the users on my old Mac.

3. Wipe the G5's original hard drive.

4. Use my Tiger install disks and Software Update to upgrade the OS on the G5's new drive to the most current version possible.

5. Use Migration Assistant to import all of the users and the applications from the old Mac.