or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Other Discussion › AppleOutsider › What's Your Ringtone?

What's Your Ringtone?

post #1 of 16
Well, spawning this from the "Done as a Society" thread, let's hear what your ringtone is. Also, what format is it in and where did you get it?

Mine currently is a MIDI version of the intro to "Newborn" by Muse. I downloaded it from some web ringtone archive I found through Google. I've been using this as my primary ringtone for about 2 years.

I hate MP3 ringtones. The fidelity of mobile phone loudspeakers is horrible, and I just think MP3 ringtones are ultra tacky, especially since people who like this type of ringtone tend to choose urban/hip hop.

I also like simple "ring ring" type ringtones but I never really hated well-done, recognizable, catchy multitimbral midi tunes. Trouble is, "well-done" is hard to find.
post #2 of 16
It's weird but I prefer the MIDI ringtones as well. It was sort of cool from a musician+geek perspective to see how they would render certain songs.

Last ringtone on my other phone was "I Wanna Be Your Lover" by Prince. The current phone, a Moto Razor is just one of the included ringtones.

Nick

"During times of universal deceit, telling the truth becomes a revolutionary act." -George Orwell

"During times of universal deceit, telling the truth becomes a revolutionary act." -George Orwell

post #3 of 16
I've made quite a few myself with "MP3 Trimmer"

Just copy pasted the ones I have used over the years

BTW, I name them with an "X" so they all appear at the bottom of the ring tone list in any phone I use them with

x AC/DC Thunderstruck
x fanfare Knives And Bullets (And Cannons Too)
x lapdance NERD
x whistle La muerte
x AmericanBeauty
x 24 Cisco Ringtone
x whistle young folks
x whistle ww2
x Nokia Lounge Version
x Rose Rouge - Saint Germain
x whistle twisted nerve
x The Godfather Theme
x minemine - Finding Nemo
x Lost_System_Failure (this WILL wake you up)
x whistle River Kwai
x Tokyo Drift (Fast & Furious)