or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Software › Mac OS X › Apple yanks wireless backup from Leopard last minute

Apple yanks wireless backup from Leopard last minute - Page 3

post #81 of 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddinsb View Post

[Note: I don't work for LaCie I'm an independent contractor who does primarily Mac support with a bit of Linux and Windows thrown into the mix.]

liar!

Wow, all of this whining makes be glad that I'm still a Windows user (okay, it really doesn't).

Whoever thinks that this issue will not be resolved quickly is not thinking straight. It's just like all of the people who complained that the iPhone is completely locked to third-party developers. Apple is working on the sdk now, and they will add wireless back-up soon. No one wasted any money on AE or external drives, because wireless TM is just being delayed until it's ready.
post #82 of 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by TECHSTUD View Post

Why didn't Steve ever mention that we would need to buy an external hard drive on order to use this "new" OS? Never once mentioned in any preview until posted 2 weeks ago. Oh, I'm sorry -it must have been so obvious!

I agree the Apple TV is a waste of money but you don't need to buy a drive to use Leopard, you only need one to use Time Machine. If you are concerned about backing up, you should already have one. I have 4 external drives, 3 in use.

By no means is Time machine the most important feature of Leopard, it is merely the marketing angle they chose to exploit as it gives them a style for product designs etc.

On the subject of wireless backups, assuming the wireless connection was decent, the transfer rate isn't all that bad. It would still be on the order of 1/10th the speed of a hard connection but we're still talking about 1-2MBps. If someone does daily incremental backups, then doing wireless backup would probably be very convenient, especially for laptop owners.