or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › General › Genius Bar › Upgrade vs. Archive & Install
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Upgrade vs. Archive & Install

post #1 of 3
Thread Starter 
Hi all-

My copy of Leopard gets here Tuesday (yay!). I've been using OS X since the Public Beta, and I am somewhat shamefaced to admit that I have NEVER in all that time done a clean install -- I've always used the "upgrade" option. There was a change of machine in there, but I just used migration assistant to move my existing configuration over the new computer!

So I'm thinking I should probably do an Archive and Install once Leopard gets here. Of course, the reason I've just upgraded all this time is that I really don't want to retweak all my preferences to get things jut the way I like them. So, my understanding is that I can set Archive and Install so that all users and user prefs are maintained, right? And installed apps too? Is there anything I should watch out for? I know the systemwide Library folder is refreshed new, but I can't imagine anything I've done that would affect that folder ... still, pointers are appreciated. Thanks!

Josh
post #2 of 3
From my experience yesterday (upgrading from Tiger, wanting to keep all prefs, apps, etc.):
1. Insert disk
2. Click 'Install' (or upgrade or something on the Leopard disk)
3. Follow basic instructions (no real choices necessary like 'archive + install' or 'upgrade')
4. Everything old is the same and works wonderfully.

So basically, don't worry about it. It will automatically do what you want it to.
Serving humanity one sarcastic comment at a time.
Reply
Serving humanity one sarcastic comment at a time.
Reply
post #3 of 3
Many people, (including me) have experienced the "blue screen of sadness" when doing a standard upgrade. The solution for me was to do an "Archive & Install".
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Genius Bar
AppleInsider › Forums › General › Genius Bar › Upgrade vs. Archive & Install