or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Mac Hardware › Future Apple Hardware › New Imacs Tues?

New Imacs Tues? - Page 2

post #41 of 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemon Bon Bon. View Post

You may not see it as a problem. So i guess you've bought one and are quite happy with it.

I've been buying Macs since 1993.

The only time I've come close to caring about a display card had nothing to do with the GPU but with the need to run more than 1 monitor. So this required adding a second card. When the PowerMac G4 MDD and later towers, the default card runs 2 displays right now of the box.

Also in the past the choice of display card would be decided on the support for a TV tuner. Now that TV tuners are firewire or USB devices, this is also no longer necessary.

The default graphics runs anything I need. And also anything any of the friends that I support may need.

Now if only the Mac mini would run 2 displays as a standard feature, I would no longer need a tower.
post #42 of 125
The obsession with video cards is a gamer thing.

Since the bulk of the gamer market is now owned by the Wii, the PS3 and Xbox, Apple doesn't really care.
The evil that we fight is but the shadow of the evil that we do.
post #43 of 125
Quote:

I'm a potential Apple customer sez why.

Choice. Guess I'm used to a market where you can select more than one mere gpu? :I

"You can buy any color of Porsche, as long as it's white, red, or black."
You can have any GPU in an iMac, as long as it's a Radeon X2600.

Alternatively, you can buy a computer that's not an iMac, or a car that's not a Porsche. Also, don't tell me this is a bad analogy, because, like with the iMac, there are a bazillion reasons to buy the Porsche that have nothing to do with it's performance as a car, and which cannot be matched by competing products.
Cat: the other white meat
Cat: the other white meat
post #44 of 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splinemodel View Post