or Connect
AppleInsider › Forums › Mac Hardware › Future Apple Hardware › Future MacBook Pro-bound Intel chips due next spring

Future MacBook Pro-bound Intel chips due next spring - Page 2

post #41 of 47
Who knows about the MBP 17 inch. solopsism's reply is just as good as any. It could be a resource issue. It could be testing/qualification issue, it could be a vendor issue, it could be the way they planned it.

I actually wouldn't mind having one. The early 2008 MBP 15 I have is actually fairly portable. Much more portable than the HP I had or even my old 1.3" thick gen 1 iBook.
post #42 of 47
Does anyone know by now if I can swap the P8400 with a T9900 chip?

Any advantage or disadvantage or problems?

Just a newbie here want to see if I can modify the new mac mini (P7350 or P8400) with the T9900 chipest?

Thanks,
post #43 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsus2k View Post

Just a newbie here want to see if I can modify the new mac mini (P7350 or P8400) with the T9900 chipest?

Thanks,

The new Mac Minis have their CPU soldered to the motherboard so replacing the CPU isn't a realistic option unless you have access to some very sophisticated equipment.
it's = it is / it has, its = belonging to it.
it's = it is / it has, its = belonging to it.
post #44 of 47
does the mac mini have a blank slot for a graphics card? i thought most imac's, minis and MBP's use the same motherboard and they should all have a slot for a 9600M
post #45 of 47
Quote:

Thanks,

you will get a bigger boost from maxing out the RAM. unless you are doing something that is very CPU specific, you will never notice the difference
post #46 of 47
Quote:

No

Quote:
Originally Posted by al_bundy View Post

does the mac mini have a blank slot for a graphics card? i thought most imac's, minis and MBP's use the same motherboard and they should all have a slot for a 9600M

and no
post #47 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by al_bundy View Post