Looking for a decent external screen and other periferals for my white MacBook

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hi guys,

At the end of September, I'm moving to what most of you might call a student dorm (though it's not exactly that). For this reason, I'd like to buy some periferals for my April '08 MacBook that make it into a real desktop replacement when I arrive at my room, while still remaining the road warrior it always has been when I'm in classes and whatnot.

For all periferals, one common rule applies: the less space they take the better.

First and foremost I'd need an external monitor.

-at least the pixel density of an iMac

-maybe max 20-22 inch due to limited space?

-not too ugly/mac-unworthy

-decent picture quality, I'd prefer an upgrade over my not-so-great MacBook screen

-I'm no graphic designer or something like that so no $2000 screens

Second, I'm thinking about a wireless mouse, that new Bluetooth M555b from Logitech seems pretty decent?

Third + fourth, operating in closed laptop mode seems cool, but then I'd think a stand to place the MacBook vertically or something plus an extra (wireless?) keyboard seem neccessary...

Fifth: external speakers

Being a music and movie freak, decent audio is important for me.

I have a Logitech Z-2300 set which I'm quite happy with, but the subwoofer is HUGE and it's overkill for a small dorm room, so I'm thinking perhaps a decent 2.0 set would make more sense. I'm open for all suggestions but I don't need Harman/Kardon or Bose stuff, just something decent. The Logitech Z5's look sweet but they steal a precious USB-port...

Thanks a lot in advance guys

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    I hope you have a profitable summer job, Lorre.

Why don't you quote ball park figures of what you can afford and are willing to consider?

If you're not a graphic designer why need another screen? Or another keyboard? You got the 15" MBP?

Couple hundred saved right there.

My pleasure.