new macbook pro: 6GB ram + 250 HD -or- 4GB ram + 128GB SSD??

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
hello. time for a new machine!

i am really on the fence here. so much so, i havnt pulled the trigger yet. what is best?? price wise they are about the same.

1. getting the stock 13.3 MacBook Pro 2.53GHz with 250GB HD, and switching out a 2GB chip for a 4gb, giving me 6GB of ram? OR

2. getting the stock 13.3 MacBook Pro 2.53GHz with the BTO 128GB SSD?

now, i have a 2.0ghz core 2 duo macbook, 2gb, 80gb drive. originally bought it for internet use, but now use it for work as i quit my job and am freelancing. it just isnt cutting it. i am a graphic designer. my consistent job is a small magazine, using indesign, photoshop and illustrator all at once. i also do motion graphics sometimes, with after effects mainly (sometimes a bit of cinema 4d, but just for "fx," no serious modeling or anything). and, i keep firefox and mail open, as well as calender and other random stuff.

whats going to give me the best overall performance boost? +2GB of ram, or using a SSD as the boot drive? opinions??

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by rpsx View Post

1. getting the stock 13.3 MacBook Pro 2.53GHz with 250GB HD, and switching out a 2GB chip for a 4gb, giving me 6GB of ram?

Don't RAM sticks have to be identical?

Quote:

i am a graphic designer. my consistent job is a small magazine, using indesign, photoshop and illustrator all at once. i also do motion graphics sometimes, with after effects mainly (sometimes a bit of cinema 4d, but just for "fx," no serious modeling or anything). and, i keep firefox and mail open, as well as calender and other random stuff.

Sounds to me you need a 24" iMac or a MacPro with a Cinema Display if you take your profession seriously, rpsx.

An MBP would be a nice, convenient add-on for when you're on the road, but not essential for your business.

Quote: