What the Heck is Wrong with iTunes?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Every iteration of iTunes has been sluggish and unresponsive. It seems to get worse over time. I am not a programer so I am sure there is a logical exploitation. Can someone break it down to layman's terms?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    mr. hmr. h Posts: 4,870member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Mac Voyer View Post

Every iteration of iTunes has been sluggish and unresponsive. It seems to get worse over time. I am not a programer so I am sure there is a logical exploitation. Can someone break it down to layman's terms?

I've seen quite a few posts from different folk in different places complaining about iTunes performance, and honestly, I don't get it.

What Mac are you running iTunes on, what OS and which iTunes version? What specifically is sluggish about it?

On my 15" MacBook Pro with 2.4 GHz processor and 2 GB RAM running 10.5.8 and iTunes 8.2.1, I don't have any performance issues. I've got a medium-large library with 7110 tracks.

How many Smart Playlists do you have? I've heard that can be an issue. I've got 22.
  • Reply 2 of 8
    mac voyermac voyer Posts: 1,294member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Mr. H View Post

I've seen quite a few posts from different folk in different places complaining about iTunes performance, and honestly, I don't get it.

What Mac are you running iTunes on, what OS and which iTunes version? What specifically is sluggish about it?

On my 15" MacBook Pro with 2.4 GHz processor and 2 GB RAM running 10.5.8 and iTunes 8.2.1, I don't have any performance issues. I've got a medium-large library with 7110 tracks.

How many Smart Playlists do you have? I've heard that can be an issue. I've got 22.

I've got the same setup as you do but with fewer tracks. The only system difference is that I am running SN. That is not an issue as iTunes has been a slug from day 1.