A really cheap Mac. (Total Mac noob.)

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
(Please no bashing, or propaganda to get me to buy a Mac, just please answer my question.) Okay, I've been using Windows ever since I was born, and I hope to continue to do so. My friend recently got an iMac and I gave it a whirl, and to be honest I don't think it's as good as Windows. However, I discovered it does have a few worthwhile exclusive programs. I've been thinking that I may want to buy a really basic Mac that can JUST do those programs, but use my current PC as my main. Being a total Apple noob, I need some advice here.

Assistance is appreciated.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    What are the programs you want to use?
  • Reply 2 of 11
  • Reply 3 of 11
    Buy cheap, get cheap.
  • Reply 4 of 11
    store.apple.com

There are PowerMacs (way expensive), iMacs, Macbooks, and the Mac mini... the prices are even listed... find the cheapest one and buy it (if you really want to.) How hard is that?

Exactly what is it you need help with again???
  • Reply 5 of 11
    addaboxaddabox Posts: 12,665member
    I think aresee's is the relevant question: what programs?

It may be that an extremely cheap used Mac would fit the bill, but without knowing which programs it's impossible to say.

Just assuming that some of them are Intel only, or that the OP wants to run at least Leopard, and that none of the software in question involves 3D modeling or batch video processing, I would figure that a refurb Mini would be the best mix of cheap/current/warranteed.
  • Reply 6 of 11
    mr. hmr. h Posts: 4,870member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by KingOfSomewhereHot View Post

store.apple.com

There are PowerMacs (way expensive), iMacs, Macbooks, and the Mac mini... the prices are even listed... find the cheapest one and buy it (if you really want to.) How hard is that?

Exactly what is it you need help with again???