Would the suspected upgrades to the new MBP make a it worth the wait for me?

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
I am a photographer, and I am looking to get into a MBP for photo editing. I currently work on a desktop PC. I'd be installing Photoshop, Lightroom, and Adobe Premiere Elements on the MBP, but not much else. I'd save files on an external drive. I really want to wait for a new MBP, but since I do not currently have a laptop or even a Mac, every day that I wait is time wasted that I could have spent working. I can edit on my current computer of course, but I'm not mobile so I lose a lot of opportunities to get things done. I'll be traveling next week and it's killing me to think of all the computer time I'll be missing out on while on the road.

With those circumstances in mind, would you go ahead and buy now or wait? Will the upgrades even make a discernible difference in my MBP's performance if I'm not loading it with too much software and only using it for this purpose? WWYD?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    duskdusk Posts: 36member
    The biggest difference should be in 3D and GPGPU power since the current GPU 9600M GT is really old.

The new CPUs are significantly faster if they can utilize there reborn Hyper Threading but some of the performance increase is off set by a slower Memory Controller and lower clock rates.

To feel a difference in Performance the rule of thumb is that a new CPU has to be 20% faster. In picture editing the GPGPU power difference really is completely unimportant (you'd have to edit extremely huge pictures). And the CPU is likely to be sometimes 20% faster, sometimes even slower thus there is no reason why you really have to wait for the new ones.

A bigger difference would it be if you play games as a new GPU should be about 100% faster or more, or video editing where the new CPUs are 20-40% faster and the GPGPU performance is also more likely to make a difference.