Bush: More Principled than Carter?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
<a href="http://www.opinionjournal.com/editorial/feature.html?id=105001733"; target="_blank">Memo to Mr. Carter: Evil Exists

In attacking President Bush, the ex-president loses his moral sense.</a>

BY NORBERT VOLLERTSEN

Thursday, March 7, 2002 12:01 a.m. EST

As a German physician, I was greatly moved by an inscription quoting former President Jimmy Carter at the Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington: "We must forge an unshakeable oath with all civilized people that never again will the world stand silent, never again will the world . . . fail to act in time to prevent this terrible crime of genocide. . . . We must harness the outrage of our own memories to stamp out oppression wherever it exists."

It is hard to believe that these words came from the same man who recently lambasted President Bush's "axis of evil" speech, calling it "overly simplistic and counterproductive." Nowhere in Mr. Carter's words did I see the caveat "stamp out oppression wherever it exists (excepting North Korea and/or any other dictatorial regime that rapes, murders and systematically starves its own people)." President Carter wrote those words in September 1979 for his President's Commission on the Holocaust. Twenty-three years later, he seems to have forgotten their meaning.

President Bush has not. He has chosen to speak out; to borrow Mr. Carter's phrase, he will not "stand silent." He has bravely called North Korea "evil"--and he is right. I know, because I have seen the evil with my own eyes. From July 1999 to December 2000, I traveled with the German medical group, Cap Anamur, and gained access to some of the Stalinist country's most remote and secretive regions.