How to make a script to open a file/folder ?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I'm new to scripting in OS X. How can I build a simple script to tell the Finder to open a given folder, and to put the window in front, using Automator ?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,310moderator
    In the command line, it's as simple as:

open "/path/to/folder/or/file.jpg"

So any scripting environment that can run a shell script can execute that with a system call. How do you plan to enter the pathname of the item to open?
  • Reply 2 of 8
    kalikali Posts: 634member
    Thanks for the reply.

As for the path, I'm not sure yet. Also, the script should bring the folder or the file to front.

EDIT : Currently, I don't understand how Automator is working. All I want to do is to create a small app that open a specific text file with TextEdit. How am I supposed to do that ?
  • Reply 3 of 8
    Okay, I'm beginning to understand now. My first script-app is working exactly as I wanted to.
  • Reply 4 of 8
    Well, I now have a problem and I don't know how to solve it :

The script is very simple and just bring the Finder to front and open a folder :

Quote:

tell application "Finder"

\tactivate

\topen POSIX file "/Users/userName/Applications/aFolder"

end tell

I saved the script as an application. When I double-click on it in the Finder, it's doing exactly what I want it to do. However, if I launch the same script-app from another application, the script brings a window to ask the user to run the script or to quit it. This, I don't want . The script should just run without asking anything, like what it already do when directly launched from the Finder.

How can I remove the modal dialog box ?
  • Reply 5 of 8
    Did you add this as a service or to an Applescript menu?

This app can help you make a service if you can't just drop the app in a services folder:

http://wafflesoftware.net/thisservice/
  • Reply 6 of 8