The mystery that is the BitTorrent

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I know I am being a little stupid in asking, but being a bit older and a bit of a novice here goes.

I recently discovered a BitTorrent of great interest and after reading a little, found that I had a few questions that need answering before I dip my toe in to the unknown.

Q - is a BitTorrent client the same as an FTP client, and if not, what exactly is the difference?

Q - in looking to install a BitTorrent client that is both easy to configure and use, which of Fetch, Transmission, Vuze, BitTorrent etc would you recommend and why?

Q - can you point me to any other references or sites that may shed further light on what at face value I find to be quite a mystery?

thanks

thesundowner

Comments

• Reply 1 of 2
    davegeedavegee Posts: 2,765member
    While I'm not able to answer your questions one by one...

This is my understanding of how torrents operate....

Is it like FTP?

Nope... the torrent_contents aren't all packaged up in some unknown repository... the torrent is much more dynamic than that. The torrent is broken up into tiny pieces/packets and distributed de-centrally by all of the 'participants' of the torrent.

Think of it this way...

A file is broken up into 100 units.

You are interested in obtaining those 100 units..

You connect to the 'torrent' and get packet #11,#17,#1,#8... your on your way to getting the entire file some time later. Joe-User connects to the very same torrent... YOU (more accurately your torrent software) offers him the packets you have available... just in the same way YOU got those packets from 'some faceless users' who were accessing the torrent before you.