i5 vs i7 w/ SSD Battery Life on 13", Intel GPU for Programming

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hi,

I am a college student, studying Computer Science. I am looking to buy the 13" MBP, primarily for programming in Java, Python, Haskell, etc. I might also design some apps on the iOS SDK. I am not a pro in programming, still learning. I plan to get the 128 GB SSD, since I want reliability, and don't need to store movies, pics, etc. Battery life is very important to me.

My questions are:

* Will having the SSD instead of the spinning drive adversely affect the battery life?

* How much of a drop off in battery life will I see going from the i5 to the i7, given that the i7 is a faster processor? Is the improvement in performance and speed on the i7 worth the drop off in battery life?

*Also, how much will the lack of a discrete GPU affect me? None of my programming will be in computer graphics. The only games I (rarely) play are Civilization, SimCity, etc, no First Person Shooters. Might occasionally watch movies on DVD.

Any insights will be appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 1
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,324moderator
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by atomicbloke View Post

I plan to get the 128 GB SSD, since I want reliability

SSD has reliability issues too - they stand up to knocks better but it's new technology and failure rates have been reported as comparable to current HDDs.

They aren't worse in terms of reliability though and are considerably faster. Plus the 128GB is priced at $1.60 per GB (at least if you ignore the fact they take the old drive back first), which is decent value. The higher up ones, you pay well over $2 per GB.

Quote:

* Will having the SSD instead of the spinning drive adversely affect the battery life?

It depends, you probably won't see a difference:

http://www.anandtech.com/show/2445/16

It can go either way depending on if you do a lot of file access or not.

Quote: