A Query

Posted:
in iPhone edited January 2014
Hello guys, i have a couple of questions that i'm sure you guys will sniff at. Unfortunately i'm a total Apple newb so these questions might seem quite silly to you.

First of all I have an iphone 3gs, and if it makes any difference i'm from the UK.

I was having a look at the iMovie app, i'm a film student so I was thinking about getting something like this. Unfortunately it says in the appstore that it requires iOS 4.2.6 or later. I've been led to believe that this iOS is not on the 3GS which I have, and therefore I need a iphone 4 in order to have this app. Is that true? If i paid for it and synced it to my iphone, would it fail to work?

This is also linked to my other question, will my 3GS never be able to support any app that requires iOS 4? If so this is quite worrying as I only got my iphone fairly recently (obviously I wanted to get a iphone 4, but as a student I couldn't afford it. My phone was broken and I was told by my service provider that I could get a free upgrade to a 3gs, but not an iphone 4. I took it because I needed a phone).

I'm also worried that when the iphone 5 comes out, no new apps will be made that my 3gs will be able to support. Is this a valid worry?

Again, I apologise if the questions seem asinine or obvious to you guys.

I appreciate any help.

Thanks.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    tallest skiltallest skil Posts: 43,388member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ratpack View Post

I need a iphone 4 in order to have this app. Is that true?

Yep.

Quote:

If i paid for it and synced it to my iphone, would it fail to work?

Yep.

Quote:

This is also linked to my other question, will my 3GS never be able to support any app that requires iOS 4?

??? The 3GS can already run the newest version of iOS 4. Just upgrade to 4.3.1.

Quote:

I'm also worried that when the iphone 5 comes out, no new apps will be made that my 3gs will be able to support. Is this a valid worry?