Ipad 2 or Macbook Air????

Posted:
in iPad edited January 2014
Hello there

I know this is a hard question to answer, but I am trying to decide between getting a macbook air and a wifi ipad.

1) I already have a 13" macbook pro, but it can get a little heavy taking it with me.

2) I would mainly use the ipad at work and traveling ( I am a lawyer)

2) Away from home I would use it mainly for opening and editing word docs, email, web, etc...

3) Is the Ipad that much more convenient for those types of tasks than the Air?

Any input would be appreciated.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    irelandireland Posts: 17,798member
    I can speak from experience because I own(ed) both an Air and an iPad. If you are going to be doing "work" on the machine, absolutely get an Air.

I work on my iMac, so I sold my Air and got an iPad. When I talk about work I mean using Word or designing Websites or icons, that sort of thing.

The decision is simple.
  • Reply 2 of 6
    alienzedalienzed Posts: 393member
    Editing documents: iPad

Creating long documents from scratch: Air

You can buy a keyboard for an iPad but then it's just an air. Another good way to decide is whether or not you'll be standing up while you work, standing up with an Air isn't doable, an iPad can be held and worked on while standing up with no problem. Also, if you'll be doing more reading than actual work, then again an iPad is the better bet.
  • Reply 3 of 6
    wizard69wizard69 Posts: 13,377member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by abirozy View Post

Hello there

I know this is a hard question to answer, but I am trying to decide between getting a macbook air and a wifi ipad.

You can always get both!

Quote:

1) I already have a 13" macbook pro, but it can get a little heavy taking it with me.

I don't really see a significant difference in weight. At least not AIR vs 13" MBP.

Quote:

2) I would mainly use the ipad at work and traveling ( I am a lawyer)

Both are good on the go.