DP500 or Single800

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
I'm on the road to upgrading my G4 400 (AGP)'s processor, since I've messed with all the other components. I'm wondering, do you guys think it would be better to get a dual processor 500 or one of the new single 800 cards?

I'm a student, so mostly games and web work, but like 25% photoshop and maybe some 3d apps now and then.

My system: G4 400 (AGP), stock 10 Gig 5400RPM, IBM 120GXP 80Gig 7200RPM, 1 Gig of Ram, GeForce 3 graphics card.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    jambojambo Posts: 3,036member
    Purchasing advice goes in the Genius Bar.

Moving there now...
  • Reply 2 of 7
    pastapasta Posts: 112member
    [quote]Originally posted by VellaX440:

<strong>I'm on the road to upgrading my G4 400 (AGP)'s processor, since I've messed with all the other components. I'm wondering, do you guys think it would be better to get a dual processor 500 or one of the new single 800 cards?

I'm a student, so mostly games and web work, but like 25% photoshop and maybe some 3d apps now and then.

My system: G4 400 (AGP), stock 10 Gig 5400RPM, IBM 120GXP 80Gig 7200RPM, 1 Gig of Ram, GeForce 3 graphics card.</strong><hr></blockquote>

I would recommend the DP 500, but that's entirely based upon my usage. If you typically only run one app at a time, you might be better off with the single 800. If, however, you're running multiple applications at a time, having a dual processor configuration will have a bigger impact on your performance.
  • Reply 3 of 7
    [quote]Originally posted by VellaX440:

<strong>I'm on the road to upgrading my G4 400 (AGP)'s processor, since I've messed with all the other components. I'm wondering, do you guys think it would be better to get a dual processor 500 or one of the new single 800 cards?

My system: G4 400 (AGP), stock 10 Gig 5400RPM, IBM 120GXP 80Gig 7200RPM, 1 Gig of Ram, GeForce 3 graphics card.</strong><hr></blockquote>