iPad VS iPad Mini

Posted:
in iPad edited January 2014

Hi, I'm an engineering student in college and I am thinking to get an iPad or an iPad mini.

Three questions.

Q1: I'm mainly gonna be using it for eTextbooks, taking notes in class - with a stylus of course, and web browsing.

Which one should I get if my budget fits for either of them?

Q2: If you recommend the full size iPad, when will be the best timing to get?

I'm asking because I hear that they are gonna do some minor upgrades for the full size iPads as well.

For example, lightning connector, or maybe to A6 chips. 

Q3: If I get the full sized iPad before the iPad Mini event, will Apple allow to exchange it to the new upgraded iPad?

Thanks for reading my question.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9

Originally Posted by Joseph Byun View Post

Q1: I'm mainly gonna be using it for eTextbooks…

Regular iPad.

I'm asking because I hear that they are gonna do a minor upgrades for the full size iPads as well.

Doubt that.

Q3: If I get the full sized iPad before the iPad Mini event, will Apple allow to exchange it to the new upgraded iPad?

Shouldn't happen, but since we're 7 days from it and the return window is 14 days, go nuts.

• Reply 2 of 9

Thanks for your advice, but you don't think they will change at least the dock connector?
  • Reply 3 of 9

Originally Posted by Joseph Byun View Post

Thanks for your advice, but you don't think they will change at least the dock connector?

No, not at all. The iPad is seven months old. It makes ZERO sense to give it Lightning and nothing else, and it makes very little sense to update it in under a year. 

Apple didn't change the iPod classic at all, not even to give it Lightning. That tells me that they've no plans to just give Lightning to the iPad. Not until next spring, at least.

• Reply 4 of 9
    banchobancho Posts: 1,517member