Need a little help with a Cocoa app I'mm writing

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
First off, I'm very new at this, second of all, I know my code is probably an unelegant POS, so please, bear with me here. (I did write it at 1am, BTW)

The goal of this app is to divide the distance of a trip by fuel capacity of a particular car. A very basic app, just to practice my coding skills.

The daysField is where the results of the calcuations on fuelField and milesField are dumped. (it is called daysField because I origionally had other ideas about what I was going to do with the app)

The idea is simply to assign the values the user enters to a pointer, which proves to be no problem. When it comes to dividing them, I can't seem to get it to perform the calculation. It can't even recognize convertAmount.

MyController.h:

[quote]/* MyController */

#import <Cocoa/Cocoa.h>

@interface MyController : NSObject

{

IBOutlet NSTextField *daysField;

IBOutlet NSTextField *fuelField;

IBOutlet NSTextField *milesField;

}

- (float)convertAmount float)distance fuelCap float)capacity;

- (IBAction)convert id)sender;

@end<hr></blockquote>;

MyController.m

[quote]#import "MyController.h"

@implementation MyController

- (IBAction)convert id)sender

{

float capacity = [fuelField floatValue];

float distance = [milesField floatValue];

float total = [convertAmount istance fuelCap:capacity];

[milesField setFloatValue:total];

}

- (float)convertAmount float)distance fuelCap float)capacity

{

return (distance / capacity);

}

@end<hr></blockquote>;

I've tried making the latter instance method a simple (float)blahBlahBlah, but nothing seems to work.

[ 12-30-2002: Message edited by: DoctorGonzo ]</p>

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    airslufairsluf Posts: 1,861member
  • Reply 2 of 4
    ok, i see a few things in the implementation part [the interface seems fine].

on the line that declares the 'total' variable, i think it should be like this: