Using Admin vs Standard Accounts...

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Just got a new cMBP, and am wondering this burning question...

How necessary is it to create both an [B]Admin Account[/B] and a [B]Standard Account[/B] for my new Mac?

On this MacBook, I just have one Admin Account under which I run all day long.

In the past, I have heard a fair amount of people say you should never run your day-to-day computing activities under an "Admin" account, but maybe that is more of a Windows thing?! :\

---------
It seems that when I first switch over to Macs about 5 years ago, that I briefly tried working under a "Standard" account, but since I am a Developer, I found that it was such a PITA that I ditched things, and chose to work entirely under one "Admin" account type?! 8-)

Not sure how things have changed from Leopard to Mountain Lion...

I could definitely use some *expert* advice on this topic, because I would hate spending a few days setting up my new cMBP, and then find out I have some gaping security holes in how things are set up?! :wow:

Sincerely,

Debbie

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4

There is not really any great reasons to not use an admin account for day to day usage. All the admin account gets you is write privileges to /Applications, and your username is pre-populated in the privilege escalation window when it pops up.

• Reply 2 of 4
    There is not really any great reasons to not use an admin account for day to day usage. All the admin account gets you is write privileges to /Applications, and your username is pre-populated in the privilege escalation window when it pops up.

This is what a document on Hardening Mac OS-X says on this topic...
    Use a standard user account for daily operations. Administrator accounts should
    only be used for operations that require administrative privileges. Administrator privileges are
    required for tasks like installing software, running updates and configuring various