Trouble using Firefox on OS X Tiger

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014

Hello!

I am completely new to the Mac OS X environment (but not to Unix / Linux OS's), and I am currently having a bit of difficulty with adding addons to my installed copy of Firefox 3.6 (the last version of FF that will run on OS X Tiger for PowerPC, apparently...).

I have performed all of the usual steps when installing addons for Firefox, and I know that the addons I'm trying to add to it are for that particular version of FF, but when I finish downloading them, and try to install them to FF, I get the following message:

"Error:

Firefox could not install the file at [addons-website-url]

because: Download error

-228"

I am particularly trying to install Download Statusbar, as I love that addon, and never use FF without it :-D

Now, this occurs for ANY addon I try to install (again, all of the addons I'm trying to add have been checked for compatibility with my version of FF...), and I HAVE a connection to the internet (obviously...); so, I am really at a loss here!

I installed this particular copy of Firefox on my Mac myself, using the same account I always use, so I can't see it being a Unix-like "permissions" thing?

I have done some google searching, but to no avail so far (and I know that OS X Tiger is ancient, so it's kind of no-wonder... :-D ).

Any old-time OS X Tiger user's out there familiar with this particular problem?

Thanks for any and all help in advance...

ZT.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    robmrobm Posts: 1,068member
    Holy crap 10.4 ! Long time ago now ...

Off the top of my head I would suspect that the plugins have been rewritten and just don't support that v of FF on PPC anymore.

Ive got 10.5.8 on a G4 PB available which I can test with ff and the plugins - wont get to it for a few hours tho.
    I'll give it a go later on and report back if you don't get it sorted in the meantime.
    cheers
  • Reply 2 of 7
    mr. memr. me Posts: 3,221member