Significant Differences? 10.2.4 on 667MHz and 1GHz Tibooks

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
Hello all,

I've lurked for a long while, and I finally need to post myself. I find my wife needing her own TiBook and will consequently be adding to our TiBook family.

Here's the question: can I simply clone (Carbon Copy Cloner, etc., with which I have lots of experience) my 667 DVI hard drive to the new 1GHz DVI? Or are there significant differences between a 10.2.4 install on the two machines (e.g., drivers for the Radeon 9000 versus Radeon 7500) that will make the clone inoperable on the 1GHz machine? With my schedule right now, spending a day installing software and configuring the new machine is not a possibility.

I remember the bad old days when each model had its own enabler overtly displayed in the system folder. I suspect it's the same way these days just in a more covert manner.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

IP

[edit: that's 10.2.4, not 10.1.4.]

[ 03-04-2003: Message edited by: IPGuy ]</p>

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    ti fighterti fighter Posts: 863member
    It might work but from what I've heard from other people on this site I think that's a bad idea.

[ 03-04-2003: Message edited by: Ti Fighter ]

[ 03-04-2003: Message edited by: Ti Fighter ]</p>
  • Reply 2 of 3
    paulpaul Posts: 5,278member
    yeah i think it would just be better to copy over your home folder and re-install everything else...

oh and you will be using 10.2.x on the new 1GHz Powerbooks....

[ 03-04-2003: Message edited by: Paul ]</p>
  • Reply 3 of 3
    overhopeoverhope Posts: 1,123member
    I cloned my Cube over to my 12" PowerBook using CCC with no problems, but they were both on 10.2.4 anyway (I couldn't be bothered to spend 2 hours installing applications, basically), but I'd be hesitant to downgrade a new TiBook...