Does anyone use AppleScripts?

zozo
Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I've been using Macs for the last 8 years and I have never used one. I don't know why. I feel I might mess up the computer or something. I also feel that while a script may be a good shortcut, many times I can do the same things with one extra step and a few more seconds.

A few years ago, Jobs and Schiller (I believe) showed off an amazing AS demo with Quark ( I believe) and the internet. The scenario was that someone sent pictures through the net to their office and with an AS basically all the pics got automatically postioned, corrected, placed, etc etc. Looked incredibly cool... but complex.

How many people actually use AS to automate their workflow? How useful really is it?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 13
    jambojambo Posts: 3,036member
    I've never used AppleScript myself but I'd like to learn. Does anyone know when AppleScript Studio is due to be released?

J
  • Reply 2 of 13
    I started off with AppleScript, but found that it wasn't all too powerful (Especially in the interface department). So I switched to REALbasic. It can do anything AppleScript can do (even more powerfully) and it is also a full fledged programming language that can compile for OS 9, OS X, and Windows (Windows, however, does not include apple events for obvious reasons).

You can even create AppleScripts triggered by moving 3d objects!

<a href="http://www.realsoftware.com/realbasic/"; target="_blank">http://www.realsoftware.com/realbasic/</a>;
  • Reply 3 of 13