Apple's top secret Swift language grew from work to sustain Objective C, which it now aims...

Comments

• Reply 21 of 93
    freerangefreerange Posts: 1,597member
    The article is pretty much Greek to me from a technical standpoint, but it is obvious that the incredible Apple team is going to continue to make this company even greater!
  • Reply 22 of 93
    rayzrayz Posts: 814member
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Rogifan View Post

Of course ZDNET aka Microsoft's PR arm, pisses all over Swift. image

http://www.zdnet.com/apples-new-swift-development-language-highlights-the-companys-worst-side-7000030150/

That's a relief!

If ZDNET hadn't gone into panic mode on Microsoft's behalf then I might have been worried.

• Reply 23 of 93
    rayzrayz Posts: 814member
    Quote:

Originally Posted by gwmac View Post

I have no technical reason for stating this because I am no programmer. I can hold my on with some HTML and some scripts but when it comes to C and other languages I am lost. What I want to say is based strictly off a gut feeling, but I think Swift might not only be the biggest news this WWDC but possibly in many years. From what I can gather this is a leaner, meaner, more modern language that could allow an entire new generation and pool of talent that were scared to death of Objective C as being too difficult to even attempt to learn. All those people fluent in other languages shouldn't have many problems transitioning and learning Swift. It also seems a lot of the knowledge acquired with Objective C can be used with Swift.  So far it seems like Swift is a much less daunting language to learn. WWDC is sort of like the cement conference where they pour the foundation. In the fall the iPhone 6 and hopefully several other new products will be the skyscraper.

I've done a lot of development over the last twenty years. Started out with C then C++ then Java, Ruby and now getting to grips with Python.