Guest post request - Apple Watch

Posted:
in iPhone edited September 2014

I've searched and searched the web for somebody, somewhere to write an article online that reveal the kind of truth that seems so clear to me about the Apple Watch.  For the first time in my research about Apple, I've found nothing that captures *everything* I feel about an Apple product.  As a result, I'm hereby requesting that people hear me out and tell me why I'm crazy, or that you agree, or whatever. Here we go...

My background is of an apple insider "lurker" since 2007 that has been watching Apple's success, through this site primarily, and I've had a spectacularly good 'batting average' for predicting Apple's actual performance accurately compared to publicly available investor expectations. So far, this insight has made me a lot of money.  Right now I plan to share my latest insight free of charge.  

First prediction.. The Apple Watch sales will be less than expected of investors. I've been a happy iPhone, iPod (RIP), iPad, and iMac  owner, but I'm just going to 'Watch" as a bunch of idiots spend $350+ for a product that doesn't solve any consumer problem.  The first time I see someone fiddling with a "digital crown" on a 1-2" screen, I"m going to stand next to them with my iPhone and make them look like an idiot with whatever task they're trying to accomplish.

Second prediction.. Apple knows that their Watch is a beautiful solution to nothing today, but is also certain to be the tech. of the future.  Wearable tech. isn't at the point where it solves real problems, but Apple can't risk getting behind the competition.. and thus Samsung forced Apple's hand in a way it'd never like to admit.  Apple has plenty of financial capital, but in this case it's using it's "halo-effect" in its fan-base to sell products that will ultimately fund the product development when wearable tech becomes more feasible.